Hide
Ridge
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
hide
Hide
Hide
"About one mile from South Mimms, in the hundred of Cashio, lie the village and parish of RIDGE, watered by the river Colne. The church is dedicated to Saint Margaret; the benefice, a vicarage, is in the patronage of the Earl of Hardwick. Population of the parish, 347." [From Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of Herts, Pigot & Co., London, 1839]
Hide
The Parish Registers for the periods:-
- Baptisms - 1558-1927
- Marriages - 1561-1836
- Burials - 1558-1932
- Bishop's Transcripts - 1566-1869
are deposited at Hertfordshire Record Office, County Hall, Hertford, SG13 8DE. [D/P86]
Entries from the Marriage Registers for the period 1558-1837 are included in The Allen Index at Hertfordshire Record Office.
The period 1558-1875 is covered by the IGI.
Transcripts of the parish registers for the period 1559-1936 are deposited at the Society of Genealogists, 14 Charterhouse Buildings, Goswell Road, LONDON, EC1M 7BA.
- Ask for a calculation of the distance from Ridge to another place.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL213005 (Lat/Lon: 51.690159, -0.246557), Ridge which are provided by:
- OpenStreetMap
- Google Maps
- StreetMap (Current Ordnance Survey maps)
- Bing (was Multimap)
- Old Maps Online
- National Library of Scotland (Old Ordnance Survey maps)
- Vision of Britain (Click "Historical units & statistics" for administrative areas.)
- English Jurisdictions in 1851 (Unfortunately the LDS have removed the facility to enable us to specify a starting location, you will need to search yourself on their map.)
- Magic (Geographic information) (Click + on map if it doesn't show)
- GeoHack (Links to on-line maps and location specific services.)
- All places within the same township/parish shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on an Openstreetmap map.
- Nearby places shown on an Openstreetmap map.