Report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Brington

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Brington

BRINGTON

[Transcribed and edited information from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland - 1868]

"BRINGTON, a parish in the hundred of Leightonstone, in the county of Huntingdon, 5 miles to the north of Kimbolton. It lies on the confines of Northamptonshire. The living is a rectory* in the diocese of Ely, of the value with the curacies of Bythorn and Old Weston annexed, of £492, in the patronage of the Master and Fellows of Clare Hall, Cambridge. The church is dedicated to All Saints."

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868]
by Colin Hinson ©2013

Cemeteries

  • Monumental Inscriptions from the Parish Churchyard (approximately 64 entries) are available from the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Census

  • Census information for this parish (1841 - 1891) is held in the Huntingdon Records Office.
  • The full 1841 Census of Brington Parish is available as fiche set C102.
  • The full 1851 Census of Brington Parish is available as fiche set C52.
  • A surname index of the 1881 Census of the Thrapston Registration District of Northamptonshire, in which Brington was enumerated (RG11/1583, Folios 23b - 26b), and which took place on 3rd April 1881, is available as Fiche C1.
  • A full transcription of the 1891 Census of the Huntingdonshire (Miscellaneous Parishes) Registration District (Sub-Districts of Thrapston (NTH), Oundle (NTH), Stamford (LIN) and Caxton (CAM)) in which Brington was enumerated, and which took place on 5th April 1891, available as fiche set C16 .
  • The fiche sets mentioned above are available from the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Churches

  • St. Peter's Church, Brington.

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Brington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church History

  • The church of All Saints consists of a chancel, nave, west tower and south porch. The walls are coursed rubble with stone dressings, but those of the tower are of ashlar. The roofs are covered in tiles and lead.
  • The church is not mentioned in the Domesday survey of 1086 but is recorded elsewhere in 1178. The 12th century church evidently consisted of a chancel and an aisle-less nave, the former being rebuilt in the 13th century and the latter about 1330. The western tower and spire were added about 1370, and the porch a few years later. The chancel was again rebuilt and the rood-stairs added about the middle of the 15th century; probably at the same time, the nave walls were heightened and a new roof put on. The nave roof was renewed again in 1674, and some repairs were done to the chancel in the following year.
  • The church was restored in 1868 when the chancel was re-roofed with a high-pitched roof and the walls heightened.
  • There are photographs and further information on All Saints Church on Rob's Churches website.

Church Records

  • The following are available in the Huntingdon Records Office.
    • Baptisms: 1685-1757, 1777-1812, 1813-1994.
    • Banns: 1824-1968.
    • Marriages: 1687, 1697-1710, 1708-1753, (Registers 1754-1812, and 1813-1837 are missing), 1837-1901, 1901-1986.
    • Burials: 1685-1762, 1778-1812, 1813-1988.
    • Bishop's Transcripts: 1604-5, 1607-8, 1612, 1617-19, 1626/1680, 1685-7, 1690-1, 1696, 1698-9, 1701-2, 1704, 1706-7, 1709-11, 1715-16, 1718-20, 1722-36, 1738-39, 1741-2, 1755, 1777-8, 1780, 1782-1812/1813, 1815-1825/1825-55, 1858.
  • The parish registers for Brington All Saints 1604-1900, are available as fiche set D88.
  • The Huntingdonshire Marriage Indexes include marriages from this parish. These are, at present, issued in alphabetical listings in series: 1601-1700, and 1701-1754.
  • Both the above mentioned fiche sets are available from the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Civil Registration

  • Brington was in the Thrapston Registration District of Northamptonshire from 1st July 1837, but it subsequently came under the Raunds sub-District of Thrapston. In 1935, the parish was transferred to the Spaldwick sub-District. It is now part of the Huntingdon Registration District.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Brington which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Brington has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Brington to another place.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TL084757 (Lat/Lon: 52.368600, -0.409278), Brington which are provided by:

Names, Geographical

  • Bryningtun (x cent.),
  • Breninctune (xi cent.),
  • Bryinintone (xiii cent.),
  • Brympton (xiii-xv cent.),
  • Bringtuna (xiv cent.),
  • Brynkton (xiv-xvi cent.),
  • Brynton, Brincktone (xvi cent.)

Poor Houses, Poor Law etc.

  • The parish of Brington was in the Thrapston Union of Northamptonshire for Poor Law administration.

Population

  • Population in 1801 - 144.
  • Population in 1851 - 172.
  • Population in 1901 - 86.

  • Population figures from 1935 include those of Molesworth.
  • Population in 1951 - 285.
  • Population in 1971 - 376.
  • Population in 1991 - 374.