GENUKI Home page

UpHuntingdonshire   ContentsContents   Nearby PlacesNearby Places NeighboursNearby churches

Kings Ripton

Map Riptone, Riptone Regis, Rippetona (xii cent.), Ryptone Regis, Kyngesrippton (xiii cent.).

The parish of Kings Ripton lies to the east of Abbots Ripton and north of Hartford and Huntingdon. The district is low-lying and flat, the highest ground being in the south-west whence it slopes towards the small group of buildings forming the village. The church stands in the middle of the village.

There is no woodland now in the parish and very little earlier. The land is mainly used for farming; the soil and sub-soil are clay.

A 15th century court-roll gives the following placenames in the parish: Collesland, Bessell, Holondfelde, Bysshop Hegeway, Ramsey Cross, Stalkersdole, Dogebrige and Caneforloud. However, Kings Ripton was included under Hartford in the Domesday survey of 1086.

Cemeteries

Monumental inscriptions from this parish have not yet been recorded by the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Census

Census information for this parish (1841 - 1891) is held in the Huntingdon Records Office.

The full transcription of the 1841 Census of Kings Ripton Parish is available as fiche set C110

The full 1851 Census of Kings Ripton Parish is available as fiche set C60.

A surname index of the 1881 Census of the Huntingdon Registration District, in which Kings Ripton was enumerated (RG11/1604, Folios 113a - 117b), and which took place on 3rd April 1881, is available as fiche set C3.

A full transcription of the 1891 Census of the Huntingdon Registration District (RG12/1237) in which Kings Ripton was enumerated, and which took place on 5th April 1891, is available as fiche set C9.

The above mentioned fiche are available from the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Church History

OS Grid Square TL 262766.

The church of St Peter consists of a chancel, nave, north aisle, west tower and south porch. The walls are chiefly of rubble with stone dressings, but those of the chancel are largely refaced with brick. The roofs are of tiles and slates.

Although not specifically mentioned in the Domesday survey, the church is without doubt one of the two churches recorded under the manor of Hartford. Of this building, however, nothing remains; the earliest part of the present church is the south wall of the nave - probably of the 13th century - and the north and east walls of the chancel dating from late in the same century. In the 14th century, a north aisle was built, the nave walls were raised and a clearstory added, The south wall of the chancel was rebuilt early in the 15th century and, a little later, the west tower was built. The porch was built early in the 16th century.

The church was restored again about 1851.

Church Records

Baptisms: 1597-1763, 1764-1812, 1813-1910.
Banns: 1754-1812, 1823, 1929, 1937, 1947, 1965.
Marriages: 1597-1639/40, 1664-1753, 1754-1812, 1813-1827, 1837-1957, 1923 (separate).
Burials: 1599-1640, 1663-1763, 1764-1812.
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604-5, 1608, 1612, 1617-19, 1626, 1663-73/1690-1702, 1704-16, 1718, 1720, 1722-23, 1725-7, 1729-40, 1742-3, 1745, 1749, 1751, 1757-9, 1770-80, 1782-4, 1787-1810, 1812-13/1813-24/1825-41, 1843-5, 1848-57.

These are available in the Huntingdon Records Office.

The parish registers for Kings Ripton St Peter, 1597-1975, are available as fiche set D90.

The Huntingdonshire Marriage Indexes include marriages from this parish. These are, at present, issued in alphabetical listings in series: 1601-1700, and 1701-1754.

The last two fiche sets mentioned above are available from the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Civil Registration

The parish of Kings Ripton has been in the Registration District of Huntingdon continuously from 1st July 1837.

Description and Travel

A GENWEB page for Kings Ripton is available.

Maps

An old map of the parish of Kings Ripton in the 19th century is available.

Military History

The war memorial with detailed information about those who fell is available on the Roll of Honour site for Huntingdonshire.

Population

Population in 1801 - 171.
Population in 1851 - 259.
Population in 1901 - 111.
Population in 1951 - 127.
Population in 1971 - 127.
Population in 1991 - 152.

Poorhouses, Poor Law etc

The parish of Kings Ripton was in the Huntingdon Union for Poor Law administration.

Births and Deaths registered in the Huntingdon Union Workhouse (1838 - 1949) are available as fiche set D10, from the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Statistics

The parish of Kings Ripton occupies some 1168 acres of land.

Find Help, report problems, or contribute information.


[Last updated: 7 July 2004 - Martin Edwards]