GENUKI Home page Up Huntingdonshire Contents Contents

Summary of Documentary and Library Holdings in the Huntingdon County Record Office

This brief summary can only give a very general idea of the kind and range of materials available. By and large it is confined to records which survive for Huntingdonshire as a whole, though some are better than others. Details of holdings of parish registers, census, land tax and transcripts for each parish of monumental inscriptions are given in the booklet Genealogical Sources in Cambridgeshire which can be purchased from the Record Office directly (Dead link, 04/2014), or alternatively from the Huntingdonshire FHS Bookstall.

Parish Registers for nearly every parish in ancient Archdeaconry of Huntingdonshire 1538 - 20 th Century.

Microfilm of Registers of some parishes which are not deposited in the County Record Office, and of many Cambridgeshire parishes, the originals of which are deposited at Cambridge.

Bishop's Transcripts (B.T.s) for Huntingdonshire, 1604-1874 (a very broken series, but supplementing the surviving registers for many parishes).

Modern typed and indexed transcripts of registers and B.T.s for many Huntingdonshire Parishes, and some parishes in Bedfordshire and Cambridgeshire.

Registers, Church Books, Members Rolls, etc. of some Non-Conformist churches and chapels in Huntingdonshire, including microfilm of relevant registers in class RG4 at the Public Records Office, 17th to 20th Centuries. Society of Friends (Quakers) records for the county are kept with Cambridgeshire records at the CRO Cambridge, including microfilm of PRO Class RG6.

Transcripts of Monumental Inscriptions, war memorials, etc., in churches, churchyards, cemeteries, etc. (Note: those published by the Huntingdonshire FHS can be purchased from their - bookstall).

Probate Records of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon, including Wills 1479-1858, administrations 1560-1857, inventories 1590-1857, and of the Courts of the Peculiars of Brampton, Buckden, Leighton Bromswold and Stow Longa, with indexes.

Indexes to records of surrounding local courts of probate, pre-1858, and to probate records of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury 1380-1700 (microfiche) and 1751-1800. Note: The Calendars of Grants of the records of the Prerogative Court of Canterbury and the Principal Probate Registry 1835-1966 are now kept at the CRO in Cambridge.

Census Enumerators' Schedules for the ten-yearly censuses of 1841-91 for all Huntingdonshire and the Soke of Peterborough, and some parishes in adjacent counties, including all Cambridgeshire and Isle of Ely 1861 (microfilm). Indexed transcripts for 1851 for each parish in Huntingdonshire and parts (mainly western) Cambridgeshire. (The remainder is available at the CRO Cambridge). Surname index to the 1881 census for the registration of Huntingdon, St Ives, St Neots (i.e. the Huntingdon Registration District) and Caxton.

Allegations and Bonds for Marriage Licences in the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon 1662-1883, with card indexes.

Index of all Marriages in Huntingdonshire and the parish of Thorney, Cambridgeshire (omitted from the equivalent Cambridgeshire index) 1601-1837. (The index for the period 1538-1600 is available in draft). The card index for Huntingdonshire marriages 1701-54 is indexed by males only.

Boyd's Index of Marriages in Cambridgeshire and the Isle of Ely 1538-1625, 1676-1837 (microfilm), with supplements 1625-75, 1801-37. Cambridgeshire burial index 1801-37.

Overseers' Records including poor-rates, accounts and settlement papers, apprenticeships, etc. (card index). These survive in quantities for some parishes and are of most value for late 18th Century to 1834. Most are listed in Catalogue of Parish Records.

Poll Books for Huntingdonshire 1710-1859., and Huntingdon Borough 1702-1832 (some also for Cambridgeshire).

Electoral Registers for Huntingdonshire 1832-44, 1865, 1920, 1928 to date (with gaps) and for Soke of Peterborough/Peterborough District 1932-84 (with gaps).

Taxation Records, including lay subsidies and poll taxes 1290-1666, Hearth tax 1666, 1674 (indexed transcripts) and land tax 1767 (with index), 1798-1800 (microfilm), 1804-32 (later for some parishes).

International Genealogical Index for Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Huntingdonshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, London and Middlesex, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Nottinghamshire, Rutland and Suffolk (1992 Edition).

Minute Books of the Huntingdonshire Football Association (1938 - 1967) (acc.4674).

19th Century Deeds, including the parcelling out of land after the drainage of Whittlesea Mere in 1850 (acc. 4670 part).

General biographical reference books, including old editions of Burke's Landed Gentry and Peerage, Crockford's Clerical Directory, Kelly's Handbook, books on prominent Huntingdonshire families, dictionaries of heraldry, etc.

Genealogical guides, including Marshall's Genealogist's Guide and continuations, Gibson and McLaughlin guides, Genealogical Research Directory, Family History Knowledge U.K., etc.

Directory collection for Huntingdonshire and surrounding counties from 1784, including almost a complete run of Post Office and Kelly's Huntingdonshire Directories 1847-1940.

Return to top of page

[Last updated: 19th July 2009 Martin Edwards]