GENUKI Home page

UpHuntingdonshire   ContentsContents   Nearby PlacesNearby Places NeighboursNearby churches

Steeple Gidding

Map Redinges (xi cent.), Giddingges, Giddinge (xii cent.), Stepel Geddynge (xiv cent.), Gyendyng, Giddynge Abbatis (xv cent.).

The parish of Steeple Gidding is about half arable and half pasture; the sub-soil is Oxford clay and the soil is heavy clay. The chief crops are wheat, barley, beans and peas. The parish lies between Little Gidding, Hamerton and Coppingford. Its north-eastern boundary is roughly formed by the low ridge which separates it from Sawtry, and the southern by he Alconbury Brook. From the footbridge which crosses the brook, the boundary runs in a north-easterly direction and passes along the east side of the Foxcovert, up Anger Hill to cross the road which connects all the Giddings, when it is defined by field boundaries as far as the Bullock Road. Here it reaches the northern most point of the parish, near Coldharbour Farm. It then turns south-eastwards along the Bullock Road to Aversley Wood, from the southern end of which it runs along field boundaries as far as the old clay-pits north-west of Hamerton, and thence to the Alconbury Brook. The land rises from Alconbury Brook, where it is about 112 ft. above sea-level and reaches about 200 ft.

The village, which is about 7 miles south from Holme and 9 miles south-east of Oundle, stands on rising ground at about 200 ft. above sea-level. The site of the old Hall is close to the church. Several old ponds, the remains of the "fisheries in Gyddinges Abbot" which were let to Richard Theakeston on 6 March 1570 for 21 years at a yearly rent of £12. 3s.10d., are still to be seen.

In 1973, the parish was united with Great Gidding and Little Gidding parishes to create a single ecclesiastical parish.

Cemeteries

Monumental inscriptions of this parish have not yet been recorded by the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Census

Census information for this parish (1841 - 1891) is held in the Huntingdon Records Office.

The full 1841 Census of Steeple Gidding Parish is available as fiche set C95.

The full 1851 Census of Steeple Gidding Parish is available as fiche set C45.

A Surname Index of the 1881 Census of the Huntingdon Registration District, in which Steeple Gidding was enumerated (RG11/1601, Folios 68a - 70b), and which took place on 3rd April 1881, is available as fiche set C3.

A full transcription of the 1891 Census of the Sawtry sub-District of the Huntingdon Registration District (RG12/1235) in which Steeple Gidding was enumerated, and which took place on 5th April 1891, is available as fiche set C7.

The above mentioned fiche are available from the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Church History

OS Grid Square TL 133814.

The church of St Andrew consists of a chancel, nave, south aisle and west tower. the walls are of coursed rubble with stone dressings, and the roofs are covered with lead and tiles.

The church is not mentioned in the Domesday survey of 1086, but there was evidently a small stone church here in the 12th century of which part of the arch of the south doorway remains. It must have had a tower and steeple before 1260, by which date the parish had already obtained its distinctive name.

The whole church was rebuilt during the 14th century, beginning, in the opening years, with the building of the south aisle and arcade, and ending, nearly 100 years later, with the rebuilding of the tower and spire together with the north-west corner of the nave.

The chancel, nave and aisles were restored again and the porch rebuilt in 1874, and the tower and spire were restored in 1899.

Church Records

Baptisms: 1571-1867 (indexed), 1813-1966.
Banns: 1824-1941.
Marriages: 1575-1836 (indexed), 1838-1947.
Burials: 1572-1896 (indexed), 1813-1974.
Bishop's Transcripts: 1604-10, 1618-19, 1626, 1660-9/1680, 1684-8, 1690, 1692, 1695, 1698-9, 1701-2, 1705-7, 1709, 1711-35, (1736 is with Little Gidding's Registers), 1737-42, 1744-58, 1761-3, 1765-9, 1771-6, 1780-4, 1788-1812/1813-22/1824-49, 1851-9.

These are available in the Huntingdon Records Office.

The parish registers for Steeple Goidding St. Andrew 1571-1992, are available as fiche set D87.

The Huntingdonshire Marriage Indexes include marriages from this parish. These are, at present, issued in alphabetical listings in series: 1601-1700, and 1701-1754.

Both the above mentioned fiche sets are available from the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Civil Registration

The parish of Steeple Gidding was originaly in the Huntingdon Registration District from 1st July 1837. Subsequently it became part of the Sawtry sub-District. From 1st April 1997, it once again is directly under the Huntingdon Registration District.

Description and Travel

A GENWEB page for Steeple Gidding is available. A civic website on The Giddings is also available.

Maps

An old map of the parish of Steeple Gidding in the 19th century is available.

Military History

The Steeple Gidding Victory Bible has been transcribed with detailed information about those who fell is available on the Roll of Honour site for Huntingdonshire.

Population

Population in 1801 - 77.
Population in 1851 - 105.
Population in 1901 - 96.
Population in 1951 - 57.
Population in 1971 - 43.
Population in 1991 - 28.

Poorhouses, Poor Law etc

The parish of Steeple Gidding was in the Huntingdon Union for Poor Law administration.

Births and Deaths registered in the Huntingdon Union Workhouse (1838 - 1949) are available, as fiche set D10, from the Huntingdonshire FHS.

Statistics

The parish of Steeple Gidding occupies 1102 acres of land.

Find Help, report problems, or contribute information.


[Last updated: 17 March 2003 - Martin Edwards.]