Open a form to report problems or contribute information

 
1 Introduction 2 Message details 3 Upload file 4 Submitted

Help and advice for Seasalter

If you have found a problem on this page then please report it on the following form. We will then do our best to fix it. If you are wanting advice then the best place to ask is on the area's specific email lists. All the information that we have is in the web pages, so please do not ask us to supply something that is not there. We are not able to offer a research service.

If you wish to report a problem, or contribute information, then do use the following form to tell us about it.

We are in the process of upgrading the site to implement a content management system.

Seasalter

"SEASALTER LIBERTY, a parish in the hundred of Whitstable, lathe of St. Augustine, county Kent, 5 miles N.W. of Canterbury, its post town. It is a coastguard station and considerable fishing village. The land is chiefly in meadow, with a small proportion of arable and garden. It is mentioned in Domesday Book, and comprises the hamlets of Harwick and Seasalter. On the shore is an extensive oyster bed, called the Pollard, belonging to the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury, who let it to the Whitstable company of free dredgers. The appropriate tithes, belonging to the Dean and Chapter of Canterbury, have been commuted for a rent-charge of £225, and the vicarial for one of £160, besides an impropriate glebe of 39 acres. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Canterbury, value £130, in the patronage of the dean and chapter. The church is dedicated to St. Alphage. The Independents have a place of worship. There is a school endowed by Mrs. F. Fagg in 1794. The fairs formerly held here have been discontinued."

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868 by Colin Hinson ©2010]

Cemeteries

Churches

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Seasalter area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Church Records

Alec Tritton has provided a number of extracts from parish registers for the following names. This is information which is currently not in the IGI.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Seasalter which are provided by:

Gazetteers

"HARWICH, a hamlet in the parishes of Whitstable, Seasalter , hundred of Whitstable, lathe of St. Augustine, county Kent, 6 miles N.W. of Canterbury. It is situated near the mouth of the river Swale."

[Transcribed from The National Gazetteer of Great Britain and Ireland 1868 by Colin Hinson ©2010]

Historical Geography

You can see the administrative areas in which Seasalter has been placed at times in the past. Select one to see a link to a map of that particular area.

Ask for a calculation of the distance from Seasalter to another place.

Maps

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference TR092651 (Lat/Lon: 51.346404, 1.002641), Seasalter which are provided by: