Abram
ABRAM, a chapelry in Wigan parish, Lancashire on the Wigan and Newton railway, and Wigan and Leigh canal, 3½ miles SSE of Wigan. Acres, 1,965. Real property, £8,925,-of which £4,125 are in mines. Pop., 911. Houses, 173. The property is much subdivided. The living is a vicarage. Value, £120. Patron, the Rector of Wigan. The church was built in 1843. There are an endowed school, and charities £36.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Cemeteries
- St John the Evangelist, Warrington Rd, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Abram.Church History
Church Records
- St John the Evangelist, Warrington Rd, Church of England
- Church of the Good Shepherd, Lily Lane, Church of England, Bamfurlong
- SS James and Elizabeth, Bickershaw Lane, Church of England, Bickershaw
- Lily Lane, Methodist, Bamfurlong
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Abram area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Abram area is Wigan.Description and Travel
Information about Abram.You can see pictures of Abram which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for a calculation of the distance from Abram to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Abram was a township in the parish of Wigan.Maps
View maps of Abram and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD607015 (Lat/Lon: 53.508700, -2.594064), Abram which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Abram was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.