Adlington
ADLINGTON, a township and a chapelry in Standish parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Bolton and Preston railway, near the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 3½ miles SE of Chorley; and has a station on the railway, and a post office under Chorley. Cotton manufacture is carried on; and coal mines were formerly worked, but are exhausted. Acres, 1,062. Real property, £4,324. Pop., 1,975. Houses, 369. The chapelry was constituted in 1842, and is more extensive than the township. Pop., 3,331. Houses, 630. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.* Patron, the Rector of Standish. The church was built in 1838, and is in the Norman style. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Chorley library.Cemeteries
- Chapel St, Cemetery
- Christ Church, Church St, Church of England
- St Paul, Railway Road, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Adlington.Church History
Church Records
- Christ Church, Church St, Church of England
- St Paul, Railway Road, Church of England
- St Philip's Protestant Mission, Mayfield Ave formerly Golborne St, Church of England
- Railway Road, Congregational
- Railway Road, Methodist
- Bethesda, Park Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Market St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Adlington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Adlington area is Chorley.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Adlington which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Adlington to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Adlington was a township in the parish of Standish.Maps
View maps of Adlington and places within its boundaries.A map of Adlington around 1845.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD604133 (Lat/Lon: 53.614736, -2.600086), Adlington which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Adlington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.
