Aigburth
AIGBURTH, a chapelry in Childwall parish, Lancashire; 4½ miles E of Liverpool. It has a post office under Liverpool. Pop., 1,994. Houses, 338. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Chester. Value, £400. Patrons, Trustees. The church was built in 1853. There are Wesleyan and Roman Catholic chapels.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Liverpool library.Cemeteries
- St Anne, Aigburth Rd, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Aigburth.Church History
Church Records
- Rundle Rd, Baptist
- Hamlet, Livingston Drive, Baptist
- St Anne, Aigburth Rd, Church of England
- Aigburth Rd, Methodist
- St Thomas More, Rundle Rd, Roman Catholic
- Elmswood Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aigburth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Aigburth area is Liverpool.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Aigburth which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Aigburth to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Aigburth was a chapelry in the township Garston in the parish of Childwall.Maps
View maps of Aigburth and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ383861 (Lat/Lon: 53.368138, -2.928761), Aigburth which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic (Click + on map to view it)
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Aigburth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.
