Aighton, Bailey and Chaigley

Select map to view larger area
AIGHTON, one of three hamlets forming a township in the parish of Mitton, Lancashire. It lies near Hodder river, under Longridge fell, 3½ miles NNW of Whalley r. station, and 5 WSW of Clitheroe. It contains cotton factories, a workhouse, and the Roman Catholic college of Stonyhurst. The other hamlets of the township are Bailey and Chaighley. Acres in the three, 5,780. Real property, 6,726. Pop., 1,500. Houses, 244.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Aighton, Bailey and Chaigley.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aighton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Aighton, Bailey and Chaigley area is Ribble Valley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Aighton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Aighton, Bailey and Chaigley to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Aighton, Bailey and Chaigley was a Lancashire township in the parish of Great Mitton in the West Riding of Yorkshire.

Maps

View maps of Aighton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD690405 (Lat/Lon: 53.859789, -2.472827), Aighton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Aighton, Bailey and Chaigley was in the Archdeaconry of York. The original wills for the Archdeaconry of York are held at the Borthwick Institute.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.