Aintree
|
|
|
|
AINTREE, a township in Sephton parish, Lancashire; on the Alt river and the Leeds canal, 6 miles NNE of Liverpool. It has a post office under Liverpool, a station on the Lancashire and Yorkshire railway, and an Episcopalian chapel; and it contains, with a grand stand built in 1830, a race-course, 1½ mile round, where the Liverpool races are run in February and July. Acres, 825. Pop., 300. Houses, 52.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Aintree.Church History
Church Records
- Longmoor Lane, Baptist
- St Giles, Aintree Lane, Church of England
- St Peter, Warbreck Moor, Church of England
- Longmore Lane, Primitive Methodist
- Holy Rosary, Altway, Roman Catholic
- Warbreck Moor, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aintree area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Aintree area is LiverpoolDescription and Travel
You can see pictures of Aintree which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Aintree to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Aintree was a township in the parish of Sefton.Maps
View maps of Aintree and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ376986 (Lat/Lon: 53.480399, -2.941759), Aintree which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Aintree was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

