Aldcliffe

Select map to view larger area
Aldcliffe, township and seat, in par. and 1½ mile SW. of Lancaster, N. Lancashire, on estuary of river Lune, 1016 ac. (337 water), pop. 94.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Aldcliffe.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aldcliffe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Aldcliffe area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Aldcliffe which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Aldcliffe to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Aldcliffe was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

Maps

View maps of Aldcliffe and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD466602 (Lat/Lon: 54.035008, -2.816830), Aldcliffe which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Aldcliffe was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.