Aldingham

Select map to view larger area
ALDINGHAM, a parish in Ulverstone district, Lancashire; on Morecambe bay, 4 miles E of Furness Abbey r. station, and 5 S by W of Ulverstone. It includes the divisions of Gleaston and Leece. Post Town, Bardsea under Ulverstone. Acres, 4,694. Real property, 8,497. Pop., 1,011. Houses, 186. The property is much sub-divided. Much land formerly in the parish has been carried off by the sea. Gleaston Castle, now a ruin of three towers, with connecting walls, was a seat of the Flemings, and of the Duke of Suffolk, the father of Lady Jane Grey. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Carlisle. Value, 1,093.* Patron, the Crown. The church is very good. The p. curacy of Dendron is a separate benefice. Charities, 15.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Cumbria Record Office & Local Studies Library, Barrow.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Aldingham.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aldingham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Aldingham area is Ulverston.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Aldingham which are provided by:

Directories

Aldingham parish from Mannix & Co., History, Topography and Directory of Westmorland, 1851.

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Aldingham to another place.

Maps

View maps of Aldingham and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD280715 (Lat/Lon: 54.134287, -3.103464), Aldingham which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Aldingham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.