Alkrington
|
|
|
|
ALKRINGTON, a township in Prestwick-cum-Oldham parish, Lancashire; 1 mile W of Middleton Junction r. station, and 4½. N by E of Manchester. Acres, 788. Real property, £1,957. Pop., 423. Houses, 77. The inhabitants are employed chiefly in the neighbouring cotton factories. Alkrington Hall is the seat of the Lever family, and is noted for Sir Aston Lever's collecting a museum at it, which was sold in London.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Middleton library.Cemeteries
- St Michael, Townley St, Church of England, Tonge cum Alkrington
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Alkrington.Church History
Church Records
- St Michael, Townley St, Church of England, Tonge cum Alkrington
- Manchester New Road, Congregational
- St Thomas More, Mainway, Roman Catholic
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Alkrington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Alkrington area is Oldham.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Alkrington which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Alkrington to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Alkrington was a township in the parish of Oldham.History
A description of Alkrington in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Alkrington and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD866051 (Lat/Lon: 53.542362, -2.203689), Alkrington which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Alkrington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

