GENUKI Home page GENUKI Contents GENUKI
Contents
  Lancashire Lancashire   Neighbours Nearby
places

Alston

Archives and libraries
Cemeteries
Census
Church History
Church Records
Select map to view larger area
Civil Registration
Gazetteers
Historical Geography
Maps
Probate Records
ALSTON, a township and a subdistrict, in the district of Preston, Lancashire. The township is in the parish of Ribchester; and lies adjacent to Longridge railway, near Longridge fell, 2 miles N of the river Ribble, 7 miles NE of Preston. Acres, 1,989. Real property, £5,268. Pop. 1,098. Houses, 213. A chief residence is Alston Lodge. The subdistrict comprises all the parish of Ribchester and part of the parish of Preston. Acres, 11,773. Pop., 4,414. Houses, 850.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Alston.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Alston area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked marked on a map.

If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Alston area is Preston and South Ribble

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Alston to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Alston was a township in the parish of Ribchester.

Maps

View maps of Alston and places within its boundaries.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Alston was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Valid HTML 4.01! InfoFind help, report problems, and contribute information.

[Last updated: Wednesday, 03-Sep-2008 11:33:31 BST - Phil Stringer]