Altcar
|
|
|
|
ALTCAR, a parish in Ormskirk district, Lancashire; on the river Alt, 3 miles SE of Formby r. station, and 6 WSW of Ormskirk. It includes the hamlet of Little Altcar. Post Town, Formby under Liverpool. Acres, 4,284; of which 205 are water. Real property, £5,988. Pop., 540. Houses, 82. The property is divided among a few. The surface includes some marsh. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Chester. Value, £150. * Patron, the Earl of Sefton. The church is very good. Charities, £7.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Ormskirk library.Cemeteries
- St Michael and All Angels, Lord Sefton Way, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Altcar.Church History
Church Records
- St Michael and All Angels, Lord Sefton Way, Church of England
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Altcar area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Altcar area is West LancashireDescription and Travel
You can see pictures of Altcar which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Altcar to another place.Maps
View maps of Altcar and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD313067 (Lat/Lon: 53.552409, -3.038454), Altcar which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Altcar was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

