Altham

Select map to view larger area
ALTHAM, a township-chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire; on the Henburn river, near the Leeds and Liverpool canal, 1 mile N of Huncoat r. station, and 5 W of Burnley. It includes the village of Sykeside; and its Post Town is Accrington. Acres, 1,406. Real property, 2,580. Pop., 410. Houses, 75. The property is not much divided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150.* Patron, R. T. R. Walton, Esq. The church was almost entirely rebuilt in 1859.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Accrington library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Altham.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Altham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Altham area is Hyndburn and Rossendale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Altham which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Altham to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Altham was a township in the parish of Whalley.

Maps

View maps of Altham and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD771329 (Lat/Lon: 53.791903, -2.349105), Altham which are provided by:

Military History

Men and women of Accrington and District who gave their lives for their country during the Great War of 1914-1919.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Altham was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.