Anglezarke

Select map to view larger area
ANGLEZARKE, a township in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire; 3 miles E of Chorley. Acres, 1,279. Real property, 946. Pop., 134. Houses, 28. Building-stone is quarried; and lead ore, witherite, and carbonate of barytes are found.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Chorley library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Anglezarke.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Anglezarke area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Anglezarke area is Chorley.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Anglezarke which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Anglezarke to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Anglezarke was a township in the parish of Bolton.

History

A description of Anglezarke in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Anglezarke and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD629163 (Lat/Lon: 53.641884, -2.562656), Anglezarke which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Anglezarke was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.