Arkholme with Cawood

Select map to view larger area
ARKHOLME, a township-chapelry and a subdistrict in Lancaster district, Lancashire. The township is in Melling parish; lies on the river Lune, and on the Furness and Midland railway, 3 miles NNE of Hornby; and has a post office under Lancaster, and a r. station. Acres, 3,022. Real property, 3,424. Pop., 331. Houses, 59. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 80.* Patron, the Vicar of Melling. Charities, 14. The subdistrict comprises this township, the parish of Whittington, and part of another parish. Acres, 9,278. Pop., 910. Houses, 173.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Arkholme with Cawood.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Arkholme area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Arkholme area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Arkholme which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Arkholme to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Arkholme with Cawood was a township in the parish of Melling.

Maps

View maps of Arkholme and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD585715 (Lat/Lon: 54.137660, -2.636702), Arkholme which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Arkholme was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.