Ashton in Makerfield
|
|
|
|
Ashton-in-Makerfield, town, par., and township, SW. Lancashire, 2½ miles NW. of Newton Bridge ry. sta. and 7 miles NW. of Warrington -- par., 8659 ac., pop. 15,687; township, 6250 ac., pop. 9824; P.O., T.O. Extensive collieries, cotton-mills, and potteries are here. The township has long been famous for the mfr. of hinges, locks, files, and nails.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Bibliography
The following books contain useful information about the history of Ashton in Makerfield and the surrounding area.- Around Ashton-in-Makerfield, in the Archive Photograph series, compiled by Tony Ashcroft, published 1997 by Chalford Publishing Co ISBN 0 7524 0797X.
Cemeteries
- St Thomas, Warrington Rd, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Rectory Rd, Church of England, Downall Green
- St Oswald, Liverpool Rd, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady Immaculate, Downall Green Rd, Roman Catholic, Bryn
- Park Lane Chapel, Wigan Road, Unitarian, Bryn
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Ashton in Makerfield.Church History
Church Records
- Wigan Rd, Baptist, Bryn
- Bryn Christian Fellowship, Downall Green Road, Christian Fellowship, Bryn
- St Thomas, Warrington Rd, Church of England
- St Peter, Bryn Rd, Church of England, Bryn
- Holy Trinity, Rectory Rd, Church of England, Downall Green
- Gerrard St, Congregational
- Hilton St, Congregational
- Cave Browne, Heath Road, Evangelical
- Bolton Rd, Independent
- Downall Green Road, Independent Methodist, Bryn
- Warrington Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Bolton Rd, Primitive Methodist, Bryn Gates
- St Oswald, Liverpool Rd, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady Immaculate, Downall Green Rd, Roman Catholic, Bryn
- Winstanley Rd, Society of Friends, Bryn
- Park Lane Chapel, Wigan Road, Unitarian, Bryn
- Carmel, Bolton Rd, Welsh Congregational, Stubshaw Cross
- Hermon, Welsh Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesleyan Methodist
- Queens Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ashton in Makerfield area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Ashton in Makerfield area is Wigan & Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Ashton in Makerfield which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ashton-in-Makerfield to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Ashton in Makerfield was a township in the parish of Winwick.Maps
View maps of Ashton in Makerfield and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ576989 (Lat/Lon: 53.485090, -2.640452), Ashton in Makerfield which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ashton in Makerfield was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

