Ashton under Lyne
|
|
|
|
ASHTON-UNDER-LYNE, a town, a parish, and a district, on the SE border of Lancashire. The town stands on the river Tame, at a convergence of canals and railways, 6½ miles E by N of Manchester. Its site is a rising-ground, from 30 to 40 feet high, on the N bank of the river; its environs are a low flat tract, reclaimed from the condition of a marsh, overlying rich strata of coal and sandstone, and studded with factories, villages, and mining-shafts; and many parts of both site and environs, previous to the introduction of the cotton trade in 1769, were bare, wet, and almost worthless. Pop. in 1841, 22,678; in 1861, 33,917. Houses, 6,460. The municipal borough includes also part of the parochial division called Audenshaw. Pop. in 1851, 30,676; in 1861, 34,886. Houses, 6,647. Electors in 1868, 967. Direct taxes, £14,798. Real property, £113,703. The parish consists of the four divisions of Ashton Town, Audenshaw, Knott-Lanes, and Hartshead; and includes the hamlets of Lees, Crossbank, Alt, Altedge, Althill, Taunton, Knott-Lanes, Wood-Park, Hazlehurst, Heyrod, Smallshaw, and Hartshead, the villages of Hooleyhill, Walkmill, Audenshaw, Littlemoss, Wood houses, North-Street, Hurst, Hurstbrooks, Mossley, and Mossley-Brow, and part of the town of Stalybridge. Acres, 9,300. Real property, £233,117. Pop. in 1841, 46,304; in 1861, 66,801. Houses, 12,962. The Earl of Stamford has about 2,030 tenants within the manor; and draws from it an income of upwards of £30,000. more...John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local Studies information is held atCentral Library,
Old Street,
Ashton under Lyne
OL6 7SG
They have made available a summary of the records, and finding aids that they hold.
Bibliography
The following books contain useful information about the history of Ashton and the surrounding area.- An Historical Account of the towns of Ashton-under-Lyne, Stalybridge and Dukinfield by Edwin Butterworth.
Cemeteries
- Hurst, King's Rd, Cemetery
- Cemetery Rd, Cemetery, Audenshaw
- Christ Church, Oldham Rd, Church of England
- St Michael and All Angels, Church Street, Church of England
- St Peter, Manchester Road, Church of England
- St Stephen, Audenshaw Road, Church of England, Audenshaw
- Holy Trinity, Byrth Road, Church of England, Bardsley
- St John The Evangelist, Kings Road, Church of England, Hurst
- Albion, Stamford Street, Congregational
- Albion, Albion Street, Independent
- Stamford Street, Methodist New Connexion
- Red Hall, Methodist New Connexion, Audenshaw
- Queen's St, Methodist New Connexion, Hurst
- Providence, Katherine St, Primitive Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Ashton under Lyne.Church History
Church Records
- Granville St, Baptist
- Welbeck St, Baptist
- Ripon St, Breakthrough City Church International
- Katherine St, Church of Christ
- Christ Church, Oldham Rd, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Portland St, Church of England
- St Gabriel, Cockbrook, Church of England
- St James the Apostle, Union Street, Church of England
- St Michael and All Angels, Church Street, Church of England
- St Peter, Manchester Road, Church of England
- St Hilda, Denton Road, Church of England, Audenshaw
- St Stephen, Audenshaw Road, Church of England, Audenshaw
- Holy Trinity, Byrth Road, Church of England, Bardsley
- St Hugh, Wildmoor Ave, Church of England, Holts
- St John The Evangelist, Kings Road, Church of England, Hurst
- Ashton Road, Church of England, Woodhouses
- Stamford Street, Church of the Nazarene
- York St, Congregational
- Albion, Stamford Street, Congregational
- Ryecroft, Stockport Road, Congregational
- Bridge St, Congregational, Audenshaw
- Albion, Albion Street, Independent
- Wellington Rd, Independent Methodist
- Kingdom Hall, Mossley Road, Jehovah's Witness
- Patterdale Rd, Latter Day Saints
- Vale St, Methodist, Waterloo
- Alt Lane, Methodist New Connexion, Alt
- Alexandra Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- Church St, Methodist New Connexion
- Mossley Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- Stamford Street, Methodist New Connexion
- Trafalgar Square, Methodist New Connexion
- Red Hall, Methodist New Connexion, Audenshaw
- Red Hall, Audenshaw Road, Methodist New Connexion, Audenshaw
- Shepley Rd, Methodist New Connexion, Hooley Hill
- Queen's St, Methodist New Connexion, Hurst
- Hope, Curzon Rd, Methodist New Connexion, Hurst
- Oldham Rd, Methodist New Connexion, Waterloo
- Hamja Mosque, Mowbray Street, Moslem
- Markazi Jamia Mosque, Newton St, Moslem
- Church St, New Christian Israelites
- Providence, Katherine St, Primitive Methodist
- Keb Lane, Primitive Methodist, Bardsley
- Winter St, Primitive Methodist, Hurst
- Ormonde St, Primitive Methodist, Hurst Brook
- St Ann, Burlington Street, Roman Catholic
- St Mary, West St, Roman Catholic
- St Paul, Stockport Road, Roman Catholic, Guide Bridge
- Our Lady, Wildmoor Ave, Roman Catholic, Holts
- St Christopher, Lees Road, Roman Catholic, Hurst Cross
- New Jerusalem Temple, Katherine St, Swedenborgian
- Richmond Hill, Unitarian
- Worthington St, United Methodist, Waterloo
- Henry Square, United Methodist Free Church
- Alexandra Rd, United Reformed
- Fairbottom, Alt Hill Lane, Wesleyan Methodist
- Stamford Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Guide Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Hooley Hill
- Oaken Clough, Wesleyan Methodist, Waterloo
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ashton under Lyne area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
Tameside Register Office holds records of births, marriages and deaths since 1837.Description and Travel
Tameside Metropolitan Borough Council provide a range of information about the town.A description of the town with a good selection of pictures.
You can see pictures of Ashton under Lyne which are provided by:
Directories
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ashton-under-Lyne to another place.Historical Geography
In 1889 Stayley became part of Cheshire. In 1974 Ashton became part of Tameside Metropolitan Borough.
The division of Knott Lanes is bounded on the north
by the parishes of Oldham and Saddleworth; by the
division of Hartshead, in this parish, on the east; and
by the said division, and the division of Audenshaw,
on the south and west.
It is in length from Birks, near Austerland in Saddleworth,
to New Market below Taunton Fold, in the parish of Ashton-u-Lyne, about five
miles: and in it's greatest
breadth, from Boardmans edge to Fitton Hill, about
two miles and a half.
It contained about 1060 acres in 1618.
Taken from James Butterworths, Town and parish
of Ashton-u-lyne,written in November 1823.
History
A description of Ashton under Lyne in the 19th century.Ian Rhodes is providing an archive of The Way We Were section from the Ashton Reporter.
Maps
View maps of Ashton under Lyne and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ938991 (Lat/Lon: 53.488566, -2.094917), Ashton under Lyne which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Newspapers
Ian Rhodes provides extracts from the Yesterdays column in the Ashton Reporter Group of newspapers describing events that took place 50 and 100 years ago.Poor Houses, Poor Law
The Workhouse site has an interesting description of Ashton workhouse.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ashton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
The Manchester & Lancashire FHS.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

