Ashton on Ribble

Select map to view larger area
ASHTON-ON-RIBBLE, a chapelry in Preston parish, Lancashire; on the river Ribble, adjacent to the Wyre and Preston railway, 2 miles W of Preston. It consists of the townships of Lea, Ashton, Ingol, and Cottam. Post Town, Preston. Acres, 3,522; of which 175 are water. Real property, 9,883. Pop., 911. Houses, 176. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 106. The church was built in 1836. There are a Roman Catholic chapel and a free school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Preston library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ashton, Lea, Cottam and Ingol.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ashton on Ribble area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ashton on Ribble area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ashton on Ribble which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ashton on Ribble to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ashton, Lea, Cottam and Ingol was a township in the parish of Preston.

Maps

View maps of Ashton on Ribble and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD515305 (Lat/Lon: 53.768572, -2.737307), Ashton on Ribble which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ashton on Ribble was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.