Ashworth

Select map to view larger area
ASHWORTH, a township-chapelry in Middleton parish, Lancashire; on an affluent of the river Roch, 3 miles NE by E of Bury r. station. Post Town, Rochdale. Acres, 1,022. Real property, 2,143. Pop., 233. Houses, 45. The property is all held by one proprietor. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 119. Patron, Lord Egerton. The church is good.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Ashworth.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Ashworth area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Ashworth area is Bury.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Ashworth which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Ashworth to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Ashworth was a township in the parish of Middleton.

History

A description of Ashworth in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Ashworth and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD849132 (Lat/Lon: 53.615121, -2.229737), Ashworth which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Ashworth was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.