Aspull
|
|
|
|
ASPULL, a township and a subdistrict in Wigan district, Lancashire. The township is in Wigan-parish, 3 miles NE of Wigan; and has a post office, of the name of Aspull-Moor, under Wigan. Acres, 1,879. Real property, £27,184; of which £19,863 are in mines. Pop., 4,290. Houses, 783. The inhabitants are employed chiefly in collieries and cotton mills. There are a school-church, Independent, Wesleyan, and Roman Catholic chapels, and four public schools. The subdistrict comprises three townships. Pop., 8,372. Houses, 1,534.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Wigan library.Cemeteries
- St Elizabeth of Hungary, Bolton Rd, Church of England
- St John the Baptist, Kirkless Street, Church of England, New Springs
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Aspull.Church History
Church Records
- St Elizabeth of Hungary, Bolton Rd, Church of England
- St John the Baptist, Kirkless Street, Church of England, New Springs
- St Margaret, Hall Lane, Church of England, Pennington Green
- Independent Methodist
- Harold St, Primitive Methodist
- Wigan Rd, Primitive Methodist, New Springs
- Holy Family, Cale Lane, Roman Catholic, New Springs
- Wigan Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Aspull Common
- Cale Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, New Springs
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aspull area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Aspull area is Wigan & Leigh.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Aspull which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Aspull to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Aspull was a township in the parish of Wigan.History
A description of Aspull in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Aspull and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD620086 (Lat/Lon: 53.572612, -2.575327), Aspull which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Aspull was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

