Aughton

There are at least 2 Aughtons in Lancashire. This is the one near Ormskirk and there is another near Halton, Lancaster.

Select map to view larger area
AUGHTON, a parish and a subdistrict in the district of Ormskirk, Lancashire. The parish lies on a branch of the river Alt, and on the Liverpool and Preston railway, at Town-Green station, near the Liverpool and Leeds canal, 2½ miles SSW of Ormskirk. It has a post office under Ormskirk. Acres, 4,462. Real property, 13,804. Pop., 1,870. Houses, 360. The property is much sub-divided. Aughton Hall is a chief residence. The living is a rectory in the diocese of Chester. Value, 830. Patron, J. P. Tempest, Esq. The church was rebuilt in 1867, at a cost of 6,000. There is a Roman Catholic chapel. The subdistrict includes also two chapelries. Acres, 8,530. Pop., 3,862. Houses, 708.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Aughton.

Church History

Christ Church.

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aughton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Aughton area is West Lancashire

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Aughton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Aughton to another place.

Maps

View maps of Aughton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD392055 (Lat/Lon: 53.542600, -2.918994), Aughton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Aughton was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.