Aughton

This is the Aughton in the manor of Halton. There is another Aughton near Ormskirk.

Select map to view larger area
AUGHTON, a chapelry in Halton parish, Lancashire; on the river Lune, 2 miles N of Caton r. station, and 7 NE of Lancaster. Post Town, Caton, under Lancaster. Acres, 1,900. Pop., 132. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 140.* Patron, the Rector of Halton. The church was rebuilt in 1864.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Aughton.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Aughton area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Aughton area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Aughton which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Aughton to another place.

Historical Geography

Aughton was located in the manor of Halton.

Maps

View maps of Aughton and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD550672 (Lat/Lon: 54.098721, -2.689628), Aughton which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Aughton was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.