Bacup
|
|
|
|
Bacup, mun. bor., Rochdale and Whalley pars., Lancashire, 19¼ miles N. of Manchester by rail, 6400 ac., pop. 25,034; 1 Bank, 2 newspapers. Market, daily. The staple industries are cotton spinning and power-room weaving. In the neighbourhood are numerous coal-pits and vast stonequarries. Bacup was incorporated in 1882.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Archives and libraries
Bacup Library,St James' Square,
Bacup
OL13 9AH
Tel: 01706 873324
Cemeteries
- Irwell Terrace, Baptist
- Brunswick Terrace, Cemetery
- St John the Evangelist, Burnley Road, Church of England
- South St, Congregational
- Ebenezer, Lanehead Lane, Particular Baptist
- Mount Pleasant, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bacup.Church History
Church Records
- Irwell Terrace, Baptist
- Trinity, Market Street, Baptist
- Christ Church, Todmorden Rd, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Burnley Road, Church of England
- St Saviour, New Line, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Newchurch Road, Stacksteads, Church of England, Tunstead
- South St, Congregational
- Ebenezer, Lanehead Lane, Particular Baptist
- Providence, South St, Particular Baptist
- Ebenezer, Burnley Road, Particular Baptist, Weir
- Todmorden Rd, Primitive Methodist
- St Mary, Dale Street, Roman Catholic
- South St, Spiritualist
- Burnley Road, United Methodist Free Church
- Beulah, Rochdale Road, United Methodist Free Church, Brittania
- Mount Pleasant, Wesleyan Methodist
- Wesley Place, Wesleyan Methodist
- Central, Newchurch Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Thorn, Alma St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Rochdale Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Britannia
- Todmorden Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Sharneyford
- Newchurch Road, Stacksteads, Wesleyan Methodist, Tunstead
- Heald Lane, Wesleyan Methodist, Weir
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bacup area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Offices covering the Bacup area are Hyndburn & Rossendale, and Rochdale.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Bacup which are provided by:Directories
David Greenhalgh has extracted entries from Pigot's 1828 Directory.Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bacup to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Bacup was a chapelry in the township of Newchurch in Rossendale in the parish of Whalley.Maps
View maps of Bacup and places within its boundaries.Maps of Bacup East and West around 1890.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD868231 (Lat/Lon: 53.704157, -2.201439), Bacup which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bacup was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

