Balderstone

Select map to view larger area
BALDERSTON, a township-chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire; near the river Ribble, 5 miles NW of Blackburn r. station. Post Town, Mellor-Brook under Blackburn. Acres, 1,710. Real property, 2,593 Pop., 532. Houses, 105. The property is much sub divided. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 160.* Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church is very good. Charities, 11.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Balderstone.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Balderstone area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Balderstone area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Balderstone which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Balderstone to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Balderstone was a chapelry and township in the parish of Blackburn.

History

A description of Balderstone in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Balderstone and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD631323 (Lat/Lon: 53.785703, -2.561543), Balderstone which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Balderstone was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.