Bamber Bridge

Select map to view larger area
BAMBERBRIDGE, a village and a chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire The village stands adjacent to the East Lancashire railway, 3 miles SE by S of Preston; and has a post office under Preston, and a r. station. The chapelry was constituted in 1832. Rated property, 6,231. Pop., 2,182. Houses, 408. There are two large cotton factories. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 150.* Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church was built in 1836. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Leyland library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bamber Bridge.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bamber Bridge area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bamber Bridge area is Preston and South Ribble

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bamber Bridge which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bamber Bridge to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bamber Bridge was a chapelry in the township of Walton-le-Dale in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Bamber Bridge and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD560262 (Lat/Lon: 53.730326, -2.668426), Bamber Bridge which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bamber Bridge was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.