Bamber Bridge
|
|
|
|
BAMBERBRIDGE, a village and a chapelry in Blackburn parish, Lancashire The village stands adjacent to the East Lancashire railway, 3 miles SE by S of Preston; and has a post office under Preston, and a r. station. The chapelry was constituted in 1832. Rated property, £6,231. Pop., 2,182. Houses, 408. There are two large cotton factories. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.* Patron, the Vicar of Blackburn. The church was built in 1836. There are a Wesleyan chapel and a national school.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Leyland library.Cemeteries
- St Saviour, Church Road, Church of England
- St Mary, Brownedge Lane, Roman Catholic
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bamber Bridge.Church History
Church Records
- St Aidan, Station Road, Church of England
- St Saviour, Church Road, Church of England
- KIngdom Hall, Clayton Street, Jehovah's Witness
- Chorley Road, Pentecostal
- St Mary, Brownedge Lane, Roman Catholic
- Station Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bamber Bridge area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.

