Barrowford Booth
|
|
|
|
BARROWFORD, a township and a chapelry in Whalley parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the East Lancashire railway, 2 miles W of Colne; and has a post office under Burnley. Acres, 1,540. Real property, £7,754. Pop., 2,880. Houses, 612. The property is much subdivided. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton manufactories. The chapelry was constituted in 1843; and bears the name of Barrowford-Colne, or Colne-Barrowford. Pop., 2,796 Houses, 591. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.* Patrons, Hulme's Trustees. The church is recent; and there are four dissenting chapels.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Nelson library.Cemeteries
- Colne Rd, Cemetery
- St Thomas, Wheatley Lane Road, Church of England
- All Souls, Wheatley Lane Road, Roman Catholic Cemetery
- Higherford, Gisburn Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Barrowford Booth.Church History
Church Records
- Pendle Community Church, Scotland Rd, Assembly of God, Newbridge
- St Thomas, Wheatley Lane Road, Church of England
- Gisburn Rd, Congregational
- Ingham St, Congregational
- Zion, Church St, Primitive Methodist
- St Peter and St Paul, Gisburn Rd, Roman Catholic
- Higherford, Gisburn Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Trinity, Scotland Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Newbridge
- Ebenezer, Gisburn Rd, Wesleyan Methodist/Independent Methodist, Blacko
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Barrowford area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Barrowford area is Burnley and Pendle.Description and Travel
Local information provided by Pendle.Net.You can see pictures of Barrowford which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Barrowford to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Barrowford Booth was a township in the parish of Whalley.Maps
View maps of Barrowford and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD855391 (Lat/Lon: 53.847932, -2.221889), Barrowford which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Barrowford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

