Barton on Irwell
BARTON-UPON-IRWELL, a village, a chapelry, a township, a subdistrict, and a district
in Lancashire. The village stands on the river Irwell, adjacent to the Manchester and
Liverpool railway, in the vicinity of Patricroft station, 5 miles W of Manchester. It
has a post office, of the name of Barton, under Manchester; and it finds employment
for many of its inhabitants in a silk-mill and three spinning-mills at Patricroft. An
aqueduct here, across the Irwell, with three arches, in the line of the Bridgewater
canal, was the earliest structure of its kind in England. The chapelry includes the
village, and was constituted in 1843. Pop. in 1851, 3,204. The property is divided
among a few. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £150.
*-Patrons, the Bishop of Manchester, the Vicar of Eccles, and others. The church is
modern. There are a fine Roman Catholic chapel of 1868, two Methodist chapels, and two
public schools. The township includes two hamlets, and is in the parish of Eccles.
Acres, 10,530. Real property, £47,264. Pop. in 1851, 12,687; in 1861, 14,216.
Houses, 2,788. The subdistrict bears the name of Barton; and is conterminate with the
town ship. The district comprehends also the subdistrict of Worsley, containing the
townships of Worsley and Clifton in the parish of Eccles; and the subdistrict of
Stretford, containing the township of Stretford in the parish of Manchester, and the
townships of Flixton and Urmstone in the parish of Flixton. Acres, 23,279. Poor rates
in 1866, £11,144. Pop. in 1861, 39,038. Houses, 7,462. Marriages in 1866, 318;
births, 1,459, of which 86 were illegitimate; deaths, 994, of which 390 were at ages
under 5 years, and 14 at ages above 85 years. Marriages in the ten years 1851-60,
3,546; births, 11,780; deaths, 7,725. The places of worship in 1851 were 10 of the
Church of England, with 6,626 sittings; 5 of Independents, with 1,562 s.; 1 of
Unitarians, with 339 s.; 10 of Wesleyan Methodists, with 3,863 sittings; 1 of New
Connexion Methodists with 200 s.; 4 of Primitive Methodists, with 476 s.; 5 of the
Wesleyan Association, with 1,239 s.; 1 of the New Church, with 212 s.; 1 of Roman
Catholics, with 117 s.; and 2 undefined, with 397 s. The schools were 19 public day
schools, with 2,960 scholars; 40 private day schools, with 1,396 s.; 43 Sunday
schools, with 6,475 s.; and 4 evening schools for adults, with 136 s.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at
Salford library.
- Liverpool Rd, Cemetery
- Liverpool Rd, Cemetery, Peel Green
- St Catherine, Barton Road, Church of England
- St John the Baptist, Liverpool Road, Church of England, Irlam
- Lord's St, Primitive Methodist, Cadishead
- All Saints, Redclyffe Road, Roman Catholic
- Holy Cross, Liverpool Road, Roman Catholic, Patricroft
- Monton Green, Unitarian, Monton
- Barton Road, Wesleyan Methodist
Details about the census records, and indexes for Barton on Irwell.
Historical notes about
Barton Wesleyan chapel.
- Parrin Lane, Baptist, Winton
- Eccles, Bright Road, Christian Centre, Patricroft
- St Catherine, Barton Road, Church of England
- St Mary, Penry Avenue, Church of England, Cadishead
- Christ Church, Lostock Road, Church of England, Davyhulme
- St Mary the Virgin, Davyhulme Road, Church of England, Davyhulme
- St John the Baptist, Liverpool Road, Church of England, Irlam
- St Paul, Egerton Road, Church of England, Monton
- Christ Church, Liverpool Rd, Church of England, Patricroft
- St Michael and All Angels, Liverpool Road, Church of England, Peel Green
- St Mary Magdalene, Westbourne Road, Church of England, Winton
- Liverpool Rd, Congregational, Cadishead
- Franklin St/Shakespeare Crescent, Congregational, Patricroft
- George Street, Independent, Patricroft
- Kingdom Hall, Liverpool Rd, Jehovah's Witness, Cadishead
- Liverpool Rd, Latter Day Saints, Patricroft
- Boundary Road, Methodist, Irlam
- Liverpool Rd, New Life Church, Cadishead
- Byron Street, Particular Baptist, Patricroft
- Bright Road, Presbyterian, Patricroft
- Primitive Methodist
- Lord's St, Primitive Methodist, Cadishead
- Davyhulme Lane, Primitive Methodist, Davyhulme
- All Saints, Redclyffe Road, Roman Catholic
- Sacred Heart, Lord's St, Roman Catholic, Cadishead
- Our Lady of the Rosary, Davyhulme Road, Roman Catholic, Davyhulme
- St Joseph the Worker, Cutnook Lane, Roman Catholic, Irlam
- St Teresa of Avila, Astley Road, Roman Catholic, Irlam
- Holy Cross, Liverpool Road, Roman Catholic, Patricroft
- St Matthew, Worsley Road, Roman Catholic, Winton
- Monton Green, Unitarian, Monton
- Fairhills Road, United Methodist, Irlam
- Ebenezer, Liverpool Rd formerly Worsley Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Patricroft
- Worsley Rd, United Methodist Free Church, Winton
- Shakespeare Crescent, United Reformed, Patricroft
- Barton Moss, Wesleyan Methodist
- Barton Road, Wesleyan Methodist
- Liverpool Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Cadishead
- Wesley, Brook Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Davyhulme
- Wesley, Moorside Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Davyhulme
- St Paul, Liverpool Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Irlam
- Park Road, Wesleyan Methodist, Monton
- Trinity, Alexandra Rd, off Liverpool Rd, Wesleyan Methodist, Patricroft
You can also perform a more selective search for
churches in the Barton on Irwell area
that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help
identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the
location
of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated
since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong
church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The burial registers of
Barton Wesleyan chapel.
The Register Office covering the Barton on Irwell area is
Salford.
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Barton on Irwell to another place.
In 1835 Barton on Irwell was a township in the parish of
Eccles.
A description of
Barton on Irwell in the 19th century.
View maps of Barton on Irwell and places within its boundaries.
The Workhouse site
has an interesting description of
Barton
workhouse.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Barton on Irwell was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester.
The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the
Lancashire Record Office.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[Last updated: Wednesday, 01-Mar-2006 20:47:24 GMT - Phil Stringer]