Bedford

Select map to view larger area
BEDFORD, a township and a chapelry in Leigh parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Tyldesley and Kenyon branch railway, 1 mile ENE of Leigh; and has a station on the railway. Post Town, Leigh, under Manchester. Acres, 2,438. Real property, 11,144. Pop., 6,558. Houses, 1,323. The property is much subdivided. There are cotton and silk mills, an iron foundry, collieries, and brickfields. The chapelry is conterminate with the township; and was constituted in 1842. The living is a vicarage in the dio. of Manchester. Value, 300.* Patron, the Vicar of Leigh. The church is recent; and there are Methodist and Roman Catholic chapels and a national school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bedford.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bedford area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bedford area is Wigan and Leigh.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bedford which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bedford to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bedford was a township in the parish of Leigh.

Maps

View maps of Bedford and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ669998 (Lat/Lon: 53.493848, -2.500401), Bedford which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bedford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.