Bickerstaffe

Select map to view larger area
Bickerstaffe, township and eccl. dist., in par. and 3½ miles SE. of Ormskirk, SW. Lancashire, 6444 ac., pop. 2269; P.O.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bickerstaffe.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bickerstaffe area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bickerstaffe area is West Lancashire

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bickerstaffe which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bickerstaffe to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bickerstaffe was a township in the parish of Ormskirk.

Maps

View maps of Bickerstaffe and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD445042 (Lat/Lon: 53.531504, -2.838792), Bickerstaffe which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bickerstaffe was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.