Billinge

Select map to view larger area
BILLINGE, a village, two townships, and a chapelry in Wigan parish, Lancashire. The village stands 2 miles S of Orrel r. station, and 4½ SW by W of Wigan; and has a post office under Wigan. The townships are called Billinge-Chapel-End and Billinge-Higher-End. Acres of B.-Chapel-End, 1,129. Real-property, 11,309; of which 7,580 are in mines. Pop., 2,015. Houses, 389. Acres of B.-Higher-End, 1,549. Real property, 5,616; of which 2,000 are in mines, and 641 in quarries. Pop., 1,051. Houses, 204. Billinge Hill here is 633 feet high; has a beacon on the top; and commands a view on one side to Ingleborough, on another to the Welsh mountains. Some of the inhabitants are employed in cotton-mills. The chapelry consists of the two townships; and is a p. curacy in the diocese of Chester. Value, 403.* Patron, the Rector of Wigan. The church is good. There are a Roman Catholic chapel, a national school, and charities 117.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Billinge.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Billinge area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

The registers of the parish church, St Aidan, containing Baptisms 1696-1812, Marr 1699-1810 and Burials 1699-1812 have been published by the Lancashire Parish Register Society in volume 123 of their publications.

A marriage index for 1813-1826 and for 1830-1836 (from BTs) is available from the LFH&HS.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Billinge area is Wigan and Leigh.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Billinge which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Billinge to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Billinge was a township in the parish of Wigan.

Maps

View maps of Billinge and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD532005 (Lat/Lon: 53.499097, -2.706995), Billinge which are provided by:

Poor Houses, Poor law etc.

Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Billinge was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.