Billington

Select map to view larger area
Billington, township, in par. and 5½ miles NE. of Blackburn, NE. Lancashire, 3139 ac., pop. 1410.

John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Clitheroe library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Billington.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Billington area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Billington area is Blackburn.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Billington which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Billington to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Billington was a township in the parish of Blackburn.

Maps

View maps of Billington and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD726358 (Lat/Lon: 53.817749, -2.417672), Billington which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Billington was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.