Bilsborrow

Select map to view larger area
BILSBORROW, a township in Garstang parish, Lancashire; 4½ miles SE of Garstang. Acres, 842. Real property, 1,455. Pop., 176. Houses, 37. There are a Wesleyan chapel, and an endowed school with 48 a year.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bilsborrow.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bilsborrow area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bilsborrow area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bilsborrow which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bilsborrow to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bilsborrow was a township in the parish of Garstang.

History

Maps

View maps of Bilsborrow and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD512397 (Lat/Lon: 53.851228, -2.743319), Bilsborrow which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bilsborrow was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.