Birtle cum Bamford

Select map to view larger area
BIRTLE, a township, a chapelry, and a subdistrict, in the district of Bury, Lancashire. The township bears the name of Birtle-cum-Bamford; is in Middleton parish; and lies near the Manchester and Rosendale railway, 2½ miles NE of Bury. Acres, 1,388. Real property, 7,909,-of which 300 are in mines. Pop., 2,350. Houses, 404. The inhabitants are employed chiefly in cotton and woollen manufactures, and in calico printing. The chapelry consists of part of this township and part of Bury parish, and was constituted in 1848. Pop., 2,135. Houses, 353. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 180. Patron, the Rector of Middleton. The church was built in 1849. There are three dissenting chapels. The subdistrict comprises parts of two parishes. Pop., 4,758.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Rochdale library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Birtle cum Bamford.

Church History

Church Records

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Birtle cum Bamford area is Rochdale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures in an area centred on OS grid reference SD834131 (Lat/Lon: 53.613950, -2.250952) which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Birtle cum Bamford to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Birtle cum Bamford was a township in the parish of Middleton.

History

A description of Birtle cum Bamford in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Birtle and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD834131 (Lat/Lon: 53.613950, -2.250952), which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Birtle cum Bamford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.