Bispham

This is the Bispham near Blackpool. There is another one near Ormskirk.

Select map to view parish boundaries
BISPHAM, a township and a parish in Fylde district, Lancashire. The township bears the name of Bispham-with-Norbreck; lies on the coast, and on the Blackpool railway, 1½ mile N of Blackpool; and has a post office of Bispham under Preston, and a r. station. Acres, 2,624; of which 985 are water. Real property, 3,307. Pop., 437. Houses, 88. The parish includes also the township of Layton-with-Warbreck: which contains the town of Blackpool and the village of Southshore. Acres, 5,865; of which 1,825 are water. Real property, 20,553. Pop., 4,344. Houses, 849. The property is much subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value 235.* Patron, the Rev.Hesketh. The church is modern The chapelries of Blackpool and Southshore are separate benefices. There are an Independent chapel and a free school.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Blackpool library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bispham.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bispham area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bispham area is Blackpool & Fylde.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bispham which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bispham to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Bispham contained the townships of Bispham with Norbreck and Layton with Warbreck.

Maps

View maps of Bispham and places within its boundaries.

A modern map showing Bispham in relation to other places in the Fylde.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD317401 (Lat/Lon: 53.852621, -3.039791), Bispham which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bispham was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.