Bispham

This is the Bispham in the parish of Croston. There is another Bispham north of Blackpool.

Select map to view larger area
BISPHAM, a township in Croston parish, Lancashire; near the river Douglas, 2 miles E of Rufford r. station, and 6 NE of Ormskirk. Acres, 926. Real property, 1,740. Pop., 277. Houses, 48. A free grammar school here, founded in 1692, has an income of 162.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Ormskirk and Skelmersdale libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bispham.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bispham Green area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bispham area is West Lancashire.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bispham Green which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bispham to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bispham was a township in the parish of Croston.

Maps

View maps of Bispham Green and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD488134 (Lat/Lon: 53.614628, -2.775437), Bispham Green which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bispham was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.