Blackburn
BLACKBURN, a town, a township, a parish, a subdistrict, a district, and a hundred in
Lancashire. The town stands on the river Blackwater, 9 miles E by S of Preston, and
12½
N by W of Bolton. The Leeds and Liverpool canal passes through it; and railways go
from it N, S, E, and W. The country around it possesses little scenic interest, yet is
sheltered by hills on the NE and NW; and it lay for ages wild and barren, but has been
much improved by cultivation. The town is large; was very prosperous up to the juncture
of the cotton distress in 1862; and has owed most of its importance to modern
manufactures.
Cottonmills and print works are numerous, and employ a large proportion of the
inhabitants. The value of cotton goods produced prior to 1862 exceeded £2,000,000 a
year. The cotton-spinning was much advanced by an invention of James Hargrave, a
native, originally a carpenter; and the cotton-printing was introduced by the family
of Sir Robert Peel. Some woollen cloth also is made; considerable industry is carried
on in breweries, foundries, and machine-works, particularly in the manufacture of
weaving-machinery; and much business is done in connexion with neighbouring factories,
corn mills, paper-mills, and collieries. Weekly markets are held on Wednesday and
Saturday; and fairs on the Wednesday before 2 Feb., on every alternate Wednesday
thence till Michaelmas, and on Easter Monday, 11 and 12 May, 29 Sept., and 17 Oct.
The town has a head post office, a telegraph station, four banking offices, and three
chief inns; and publishes four weekly newspapers. It is a seat of courts. and a
polling-place; it was constituted, by the act of 1832, a parliamentary borough sending
two members to parliament; and it was made municipal in 1851, with government by a
mayor, twelve aldermen, and thirty-six councillors. Acres, 3,610. Real property, in
1860, £170,703. Direct taxes, in 1857, £26,354. Electors in 1868, 1,894. Pop. in 1841,
36,629; in 1861, 63,126. Houses, 11,306.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
more ...
Local studies holdings
in:
Blackburn Central Library,
Town Hall Street,
Blackburn
BB2 1AH
- Whalley New Road, Cemetery
- St John the Evangelist, Victoria St, Church of England
- St Mary (Cathedral), Cathedral Close, Church of England
- St Paul, St Paul's St, Church of England
- St Peter, St Peter's St, Church of England
- Chapel St, Independent
- Islington, Particular Baptist
- St Alban, Larkhill, Roman Catholic
- Paradise Lane, Society of Friends
- Paradise Lane, United Methodist Free Church
- Clayton St, Wesleyan Methodist
Details about the census records, and indexes for Blackburn.
- Randal St, Apostolic
- Leamington Road, Baptist
- Montague St, Baptist
- Anvil St, Christian Brethren
- Russell St, Christian Meeting House
- All Saints, Nova Scotia, Church of England
- Christ Church, Mosley Street, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Mount Pleasant, Church of England
- St Barnabus, Addison Street, Church of England
- St Gabriel, Brownhill Drive, Church of England
- St James, St James Road, Church of England
- St John the Evangelist, Victoria St, Church of England
- St Jude, Accrington Road, Church of England
- St Luke, Bank Top, Church of England
- St Mary (Cathedral), Cathedral Close, Church of England
- St Matthew, Higher Audley, Church of England
- St Michael and All Angels, Palm St, Church of England
- St Michael and All Angels, Whalley Rd, Church of England
- St Paul, St Paul's St, Church of England
- St Peter, St Peter's St, Church of England
- St Philip, St Philip's St, Church of England
- St Silas, Preston New Road, Church of England
- St Thomas, Lambeth St, Church of England
- The Saviour, Sunnybank Road, Church of England
- St Stephen, St Stephen's Road, Church of England, Little Harwood
- St Mark the Evangelist, Buncer Lane, Church of England, Witton
- Artillery St, Congregational
- Audley Range, Congregational
- James St, Congregational
- Park Rd, Congregational
- Trinity, Brownhill Rd, Congregational, Brownhill
- Shear Brow, Congregational, Revidge Fold
- Thompson St, Congregational, Witton
- Fecitt Brow, Evangelical Presbyterian
- St George, St George's Ave, Free Church of England, Mill Hill
- Chapel St, Independent
- Paradise Lane, Jewish
- Lambeth St, Latter Day Saints
- Hawthorne St, Methodist
- Lammack Road, Methodist, Lammack
- Anvil St, New Jerusalem
- Islington, Particular Baptist
- Whalley Range, Presbyterian
- St George, Preston New Rd, Presbyterian
- Eccles St, Primitive Methodist
- Mosley Street, Grimshaw Park, Primitive Methodist
- Salisbury St, Daisyfield, Primitive Methodist
- Waterfall Buildings, Primitive Methodist
- Ebenezer, Primitive Methodist
- Zion, Montague St, Primitive Methodist
- Oxford St, Primitive Methodist, Higher Audley
- Greenfield St, Primitive Methodist, Witton
- Good Shepherd, Northfield Road, Roman Catholic
- Good Shepherd, Shear Bank Rd, Roman Catholic
- Holy Souls, Whalley New Road, Roman Catholic
- Sacred Heart, Preston New Road, Roman Catholic
- St Alban, Larkhill, Roman Catholic
- St Anne, France Street, Roman Catholic
- St Joseph, Mary St, Audley Range, Roman Catholic
- St Mary, Islington, Roman Catholic
- St Teresa of the Child Jesus, Bentley Street, Roman Catholic, Intack
- Our Lady of Perpetual Succour, Pilmuir Road, Roman Catholic, Longshaw
- Christ the King and St Anthony, North Road, Roman Catholic, Shadsworth
- Paradise Lane, Society of Friends
- Derby St, United Methodist Free Church
- Fielden St, United Methodist Free Church
- Paradise Lane, United Methodist Free Church
- Altom St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Clayton St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Griffin St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Harrison St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Harwood St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Kendal St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Trinity, Preston New Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for
churches in the Blackburn area
that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help
identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the
location
of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated
since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong
church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The following items have been produced by the
LFH&HS.
- A marriage index for St Mary the Virgin, 1813-1837.
- A birth/baptism register index
is available for Islington Particular Baptists 1772-1837.
- A birth/baptism register index
for Chapel Street Congregational, Oct 1777 - Aug 1837.
- St John - Grave Occ list 1781-1950.
- Islington Particular Baptists burials, Sept 1764 - June 1837.
- Monumental Inscriptions, Non-Conformist chapels.
The Register Office covering the Blackburn area is
Blackburn.
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Blackburn to another place.
In 1835 the parish of Blackburn contained the townships of Blackburn,
Walton le Dale,
Cuerdale,
Samlesbury,
Balderstone,
Osbaldeston,
Clayton-le-Dale,
Salesbury,
Dinckley,
Billington,
Mellor,
Ramsgreave,
Wilpshire,
Pleasington,
Livesey,
Tockholes,
Lower Darwen,
Over Darwen,
Little Harwood,
Great Harwood,
Rishton,
Witton,
Yate with Pickup Bank and
Eccleshill.
View maps of Blackburn and places within its boundaries.
The Workhouse site
has an interesting description of
Blackburn
workhouse.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Blackburn was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester.
The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the
Lancashire Record Office.
Find help, report
problems, and contribute information.
[Last updated: Wednesday, 03Sep2008 11:33:41 BST - Phil Stringer]