Blackley
|
|
|
|
BLACKLEY, a village, two chapelries, and a subdistrict, in Manchester parish and district, Lancashire. The village stands on the river Irk, near the Manchester and Leeds railway, 3 miles N of Manchester; and has a post office under Manchester, and a police station. The chapelries are B. and B.-St. Andrew. Acres, 1,764. Real property, £10,955. Pop., 4,112. Houses, 838. The property is subdivided. Many of the inhabitants are employed in cotton manufactures and in extensive dye-works. The livings are rectories. Value of B., £182.* B. church was rebuilt in 1835; and is in the early English style, with a fine tower. St. A. church was built in 1866. There are two Wesleyan chapels, a Roman Catholic chapel, a mechanics' institution, a Church institute, public schools, and a reformatory. The subdistrict includes also Harpurhey township.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Manchester central library.Cemeteries
- Victoria Ave, Cemetery
- St Peter, Old Market Street, Church of England
- St Andrew, Churchdale Rd, Church of England, Higher Blackley
- Rochdale Road, Jewish Cemetery
- Chapel Lane, Presbyterian
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Blackley.Church History
Church Records
- Restoration, Hopkinson Rd, Baptist, Higher Blackley
- St Nicholas, Grange Park Road, Byelorussian Orthodox Church
- Most Holy Trinity, Goodman Street, Church of England
- St Mark, Whitemoss, Church of England
- St Paul, Victoria Ave, Church of England
- St Peter, Old Market Street, Church of England
- St Andrew, Churchdale Rd, Church of England, Higher Blackley
- Glenbrook Chapel, Victoria Ave, Evangelical
- Cumberland Rd, Exclusive Brethren
- Hopkinson Rd, Independent Methodist, Higher Blackley
- White Moss, Grange Park Rd, Methodist
- Warren St, Methodist Association
- Warren Street, Methodist Association, Lower Blackley
- Zion, Crab Lane, Methodist New Connexion
- Crab Lane, Pentecostal
- Victoria Avenue, Pentecostal, Higher Blackley
- Chapel Lane, Presbyterian
- Rochdale Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Rochdale Rd, Barnes Green, Primitive Methodist
- Booth Hall Chapel, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady of Mount Carmel, Old Road, Roman Catholic
- St John Bosco, Charlestown Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Clare, Victoria Avenue, Roman Catholic, Higher Blackley
- Market St, United Methodist Free Church
- Exchange St/Old Market St, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Blackley area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Blackley area is Manchester.Description and Travel
David Johnson provides Sketches of Blackley and District which were drawn by George Chandler Perkins in the 19th century.You can see pictures of Blackley which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Blackley to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Blackley was a township in the parish of Manchester.History
A description of Blackley in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Blackley and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD860024 (Lat/Lon: 53.518077, -2.212621), Blackley which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Blackley was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
The Manchester & Lancashire Family History Society.
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

