Blackpool
|
|
|
|
Blackpool.-- mun. bor. and seaport town, N. Lancashire, 17½ miles NW. of Preston and 227 miles from London by rail, 2952 ac., pop. 14,229; 3 Banks, 4 newspapers; is a much-frequented watering-place, possessing fine sands, 2 handsome piers with large concert pavilion, aquarium, and pleasure gardens. B. was created a mun. bor. in 1876.John Bartholomew, Gazetteer of the British Isles (1887)
Archives and libraries
Blackpool Central Library,Queen Street,
Blackpool
FY1 1PX
Cemeteries
- Holy Trinity, Dean Street, Church of England
- St John, Church St, Church of England
- Bethesda, Bethesda Rd, Independent
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Blackpool.Church History
Churches in 1918 from the Blackpool Gazette News Year Book.Church Records
- The Well, New South Promenade,
- Bolton St, 7th Day Adventist
- Forest Gate, Baptist
- Station Rd/Bond St, Baptist
- Baptist Tabernacle, Springfield Rd, Baptist
- Victory, St Annes Rd, Baptist
- Shaw Rd, Bible Pattern
- Collingwood Ave, Christadelphian
- Kings, Warley Rd, Christian Centre
- Princess St, Christian Fellowship
- Ripon Rd, Christian Fellowship
- First Church of Christ Scientist, Whitegate Drive, ChristianScience
- All Saints, Palatine Rd, Church of England
- Christ Church, Queen St, Church of England
- Holy Cross, Central Drive, Church of England
- Holy Trinity, Dean Street, Church of England
- St Anne, Salmesbury Ave, Church of England
- St Christopher, Hawes Side Lane, Church of England
- St John, Church St, Church of England
- St Michael and All Angels, Dinmore Avenue, Church of England
- St Paul, Egerton Rd, Church of England
- St Peter, Lytham Road, Church of England
- St Stephen on the Cliffs, Holmfield Road, Church of England
- St Thomas, Caunce St, Church of England
- St Wilfrid, Langdale Rd, Church of England
- Claremont, Warley Rd, Congregational
- Alexandra, Bolton St, Congregational
- Bethesda, Grasmere Rd, Lune Grove, Congregational
- St George, Plymouth Rd, Congregational
- Victoria, Newton Drive, Congregational
- Fredora Ave, Elim Pentecostal
- Blackpool Christian Centre, Waterloo Rd, Elim Pentecostal
- Clifton Christian Centre, Langdale Rd, Elim Pentecostal
- Raikes Parade, Fylde Coast Church Alive
- Chapel St, Independent
- Victoria St, Independent
- Bethesda, Bethesda Rd, Independent
- Central Drive, Independent Methodist
- Blackpool Central Mosque, Revoe Road, Islam
- Fleet St, Jehovah's Witness
- Waterloo Rd, Methodist
- Lindale, Dorritt Rd, Methodist
- Mereside Methodist, Grizedale Rd, Methodist
- New Central, Adelaide St, Methodist
- Springfield Greenlands, Bispham Rd, Methodist
- Newton Drive, Methodist New Connexion
- Springfield Rd, Methodist New Connexion
- Queen Victoria Road, New Life Community Church
- Gospel Hall, Salthouse Ave, Open Brethren
- Chapel St, Primitive Methodist
- Grasmere Rd formerly Lune Grove, Primitive Methodist
- Ebenezer, Egerton Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Raikes Parade, Reform Jewish
- Christ the King, Chepstow Road, Roman Catholic
- Holy Family, Links Road, Roman Catholic
- Our Lady of the Assumption, Common Edge Road, Roman Catholic
- Sacred Heart of Jesus and Mary, Talbot Rd, Roman Catholic
- Shrine of Our Lady of Lourdes, Whinney Hayes Rd, Roman Catholic
- St Cuthbert, Lytham Road, Roman Catholic
- St Joseph, Levens Grove, Revoe, Roman Catholic
- St Kentigern, Newton Drive, Roman Catholic
- St Margaret Clitherow, Lytham Rd, Roman Catholic
- Dorset St, Salvation Army
- Raikes Parade, Salvation Army
- Raikes Parade, Society of Friends
- Albert Rd, Spiritualist
- Reads Ave, Swedenborgian
- Abingdon St, Union Baptist
- Banks St, Unitarian
- Lytham Rd, Unitarian
- Leamington Rd, United Hebrew
- Shaw Rd, United Methodist Free Church
- Trinity, Adelaide St, United Methodist Free Church
- Adelaide St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Bank Hey St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Dickson Rd, Wesleyan Methodist
- Grosvenor Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- Raikes Parade, Wesleyan Methodist
- Ebenezer, Rawcliffe St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Highfield, Scarsdale Ave (formerly Highfield Ave), Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Blackpool area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Blackpool area is Blackpool & Fylde.Description and Travel
Some pictures of Blackpool.You can see pictures of Blackpool which are provided by:
Directories
"Blackpool, 4 miles south-west of Poulton, in the parish of Bispham, is a celebrated bathing place on the coast of the Irish sea. The peaty coloured pool, which gives name to the place is at the south-end of Blackpool, near the house called Fox Hall, once the residence of the TYLDESLEYs, but now a farm house. The firm and smooth sand renders the operation of bathing very safe and agreeable, which is regulated here with peculiar and rigorous attention to decency. For the accommodation and recreation of visitors and the respectable inhabitants, there are the news and coffee rooms, a library; and at the hotels, during the season, assemblies are given. In 1821 an episcopal chapel was erected here, subject to the parochial jurisdiction of Bispham. About 800 inhabitants form the population of Blackpool, exclusive of visitors."Pigot's Royal National and Commercial Directory and Topography of the county of Lancashire (1828)
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Blackpool to another place.Historical Geography
Blackpool is a relatively new town which grew up with the fashion to go to the seaside, and take the waters. It's parish church, St.John, was built in 1820. The town of Blackpool was built in the area that was previously the townships of Layton with Warbreck and Bispham with Norbreck in the parish of Bispham, and the township of Marton in the parish of Poulton le Fylde.History
A brief history of Blackpool.A chronology of significant events in Blackpool's history.
Maps
View maps of Blackpool and places within its boundaries.A modern map showing Blackpool in relation to other places in the Fylde.
You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD308364 (Lat/Lon: 53.819251, -3.052636), Blackpool which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Blackpool was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

