Blackrod
|
|
|
|
BLACKROD, a village and a township-chapelry in Bolton-le-Moors parish, Lancashire. The village stands on elevated ground near the river Douglas and the Bolton and Preston railway, 4½ miles SSE of Chorley: and it has a joint station with Horwich on the railway, and a post office of its own under Chorley. Its site is supposed to have been occupied by the Roman station Coccium, on Watling-street; and many Roman relics have been found. The chapelry comprises 2,367 acres. Real property, £14,264; of which 7,711 are in mines. Pop., 2,911. Houses, 546. The property is not much divided. The inhabitants are chiefly cotton-spinners and colliers. A fire in a colliery here was extinguished by drawing into it the river Douglas. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, £400.* Patron, the Vicar of Bolton. The church is good; and there is a Wesleyan chapel. A free grammar school has £140 a year, besides sums for three exhibitions at Pembroke college, Cambridge; and other charities have £104.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at Bolton library.Cemeteries
- Manchester Rd, Cemetery
- St Katharine, Church Street, Church of England
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Blackrod.Church History
Church Records
- St Katharine, Church Street, Church of England
- Church Street, Methodist New Connexion
- St Andrew, Hill Lane, Roman Catholic
- Church Street, Wesleyan Methodist
- New St, Wesleyan Methodist
- Whitehall Lane (formerly Shepherd's Lane), Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Blackrod area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Blackrod area is Wigan and leigh.Description and Travel
Some pictures and historical information.You can see pictures of Blackrod which are provided by:
Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Blackrod to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Blackrod was a township in the parish of Bolton.History
A description of Blackrod in the 19th century.Maps
View maps of Blackrod and places within its boundaries. You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD613110 (Lat/Lon: 53.594131, -2.586196), Blackrod which are provided by:- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Poor Houses, Poor law etc.
Poor Law records held at Wigan Archives.Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Blackrod was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

