Blatchinworth and Calderbrook

Select map to view larger area
BLATCHINWORTH, a township and a subdistrict in the district of Rochdale, Lancashire. The township bears the name of Blatchinworth-with-Calderbrook; lies on the Manchester and Leeds railway, 5 miles NE of Rochdale; contains seven hamlets and Littleborough village, the last with a post office under Manchester and a r. station; and has romantic scenery., numerous good residences, a church, five dissenting chapels, an endowed school, eight cotton mills, twelve woollen mills, two collieries, and rich quarries. Real property, 14,551; of which 1,020 are in mines. Pop., 4,860. Houses, 980. The subdistrict is conterminate with the township.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Blatchinworth and Calderbrook.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Calderbrook area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Blatchinworth and Calderbrook area is Rochdale.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Calderbrook which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Blatchinworth and Calderbrook to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Blatchinworth and Calderbrook was a township in the parish of Rochdale.

History

A description of Blatchinworth and Calderbrook in the 19th century.

Maps

View maps of Calderbrook and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD941182 (Lat/Lon: 53.660249, -2.090762), Calderbrook which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Blatchinworth and Calderbrook was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.