Bleasdale

Select map to view larger area
BLEASDALE, or Admarsh, a chapelry in Lancaster parish, Lancashire; among the hills, 5 miles ENE of Garstang r. station. It has a post office, of the name of Bleasdale, under Garstang. Acres, 8,490. Real property, 2,418. Pop., 372. Houses, 52. Most of the area was formerly forest, belonging to the Crown. Bleasdale Tower is the seat of W. J Garnett, Esq. Bleasdale Fell is 1,709 feet high. The living is a p. curacy in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 80.* Patron, the Vicar of Lancaster. The church was built in 1837. There are an endowed school, a reformatory, and charities 44.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Garstang library.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bleasdale.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bleasdale area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bleasdale area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Admarsh which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bleasdale to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bleasdale was a township in the parish of Lancaster.

History

Maps

View maps of Bleasdale and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD573455 (Lat/Lon: 53.903894, -2.651407), Bleasdale which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bleasdale was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.