Bold
|
|
|
|
BOLD, two hamlets and a township in Prescot parish, Lancashire. The hamlets are Bold and Bold-Heath; and the former stands adjacent to the Runcorn railway, 4 miles ESE of Prescot. The township includes also the hamlet of Maypole. Acres, 4,338. Real property, £8,151. Pop., 798. Houses, 137. The family of Bold, now represented by that of Bold Hoghton, were seated here from the Conquest till 1761; and they give name to Bold-street in Liverpool. The ancient mansion is now a farmhouse; and the modern one is Bold Hall. Bishop Barnes, who died in 1588, was a native.John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Archives and libraries
Local studies information is held at St.Helens library.Cemeteries
Census
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bold.Church History
Church Records
- Clockface Road, Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bold area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
Civil Registration
The Register Office covering the Bold area is St Helens.Description and Travel
You can see pictures of Bold which are provided by:Gazetteers
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bold to another place.Historical Geography
In 1835 Bold was a township in the parish of Prescot.Maps
View maps of Bold and places within its boundaries.You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ546928 (Lat/Lon: 53.430012, -2.684777), Bold which are provided by:
- StreetMap
- Open StreetMap
- Bing (was Multimap)
- OldMaps
- Old Maps Online
- Vision of Britain
- English Jurisdictions in 1851
- Magic
- Elgin Road Works
- GeoHack
- All places within the same township/parish shown on a Google map.
- Nearby townships/parishes shown on a Google map.
- Nearby places shown on a Google map.
- This place shown on a Google map.
- Google Streetview
Probate Records
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bold was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.Societies
You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.

