Bolton le Sands

Select map to view larger area
BOLTON-LE-SANDS, a township and a parish in Lancaster district, Lancashire. The township lies on the Lancaster and Kendal canal, and on the Lancaster and Carlisle railway, contiguous to the sands of Morecambe bay, 4 miles N by E of Lancaster; and it has a station on the railway, and a post office under Lancaster. Acres, 1,571. Real property, 4,220. Pop., 692. Houses, 146. The parish contains also the townships of Over Kellet, Nether Kellet, and Slyne-with-Hest. Acres, 7,905. Real property, 13,502. Pop., 1,713. Houses, 347. The property is much subdivided. The living is a vicarage in the diocese of Manchester. Value, 187.* Patron, the Bishop of Manchester. The church is modern and very good. The vicarage of Over Kellet is a separate benefice. An endowed school has 35; other charities 101.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Archives and libraries

Local studies information is held at Lancaster and Morecambe libraries.

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bolton le Sands.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bolton le Sands area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Bolton le Sands area is Lancaster.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bolton le Sands which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bolton le Sands to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 the parish of Bolton le Sands contained the townships of Bolton le Sands, Slyne with Hest, Over Kellet and Nether Kellet.

Maps

View maps of Bolton le Sands and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SD484678 (Lat/Lon: 54.103492, -2.790646), Bolton le Sands which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bolton le Sands was in the Archdeaconry of Richmond, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Richmond are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.