Bootle

Select map to view larger area
BOOTLE-CUM-LINACRE, a township and three chapelries in Walton-on-the-Hill parish, Lancashire. The township lies on the Mersey, the Liverpool and Southport railway, and the L. and Leeds canal, 3¼ miles N by W of Liverpool; was, till lately, a much-frequented watering-place, but is now occupied, on all its river front, by Liverpool docks; and has a post office under Liverpool, and four railway stations. Acres, 1,781; of which 610 are water. Real property in 1860, 25,158. Pop. in 1861, 6,414. Houses, 1,048. Pop. in 1869, about 15,200. The chapelries are St. Mary, St. John, and Christchurch; the two former p. curacies, the latter a vicarage, in the diocese of Chester. Value of St. M., 300; of C., 300.* Patron of St. M., W. S. Millar, Esq.; of St. J. and C., Trustees. St. M. 's church was built in 1826; St. J. 's in 1864, at a cost of 5,000; church, in 1866, at a cost of 8,800; and all are handsome. A Wesleyan chapel, in French first-pointed style, was built in 1864. A Roman Catholic chapel was built in 1868. There are also United Presbyterian, Baptist, and Welsh Methodist chapels, a national school, and a Christian Association's reading and lecture rooms.

John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)

Cemeteries

Census

Details about the census records, and indexes for Bootle.

Church History

Church Records

You can also perform a more selective search for churches in the Bootle area that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help identify other churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the location of the churches marked on a map.

Civil Registration

The Register Office covering the Sefton area is Sefton South.

Description and Travel

You can see pictures of Bootle which are provided by:

Gazetteers

Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bootle to another place.

Historical Geography

In 1835 Bootle was a township in the parish of Walton on the Hill.

Maps

View maps of Bootle and places within its boundaries.

You can see maps centred on OS grid reference SJ339947 (Lat/Lon: 53.444896, -2.996683), Bootle which are provided by:

Probate Records

For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bacup was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester. The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the Lancashire Record Office.

Societies

You can also see Family History Societies covering the nearby area, plotted on a map. This facility is being developed, and is awaiting societies to enter information about the places they cover.