Bradford
BRADFORD, a township and a chapelry in Manchester parish, Lancashire. The township
lies adjacent to the Manchester and Sheffield railway, 4 miles E of Manchester; and
has a post office under Manchester. Acres, 279. Pop., 3,523. Houses, 707. The chapelry
extends into Beswick township; bears the name of Bradford-cum-Beswick; and was
constituted very recently. The statistics are not reported. The living is a rectory in
the diocese of Manchester, with a parsonage, and in the patronage of the Bishop. The
church was built in 1862, at a cost of £6,000; and is in the early English style, and
cruciform. There are Wesleyan and Free Methodist chapels, large schools built in 1864,
at a cost of £3,000, and a police station.
John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72)
Local studies information is held at
Manchester Central library.
Details about the census records, and indexes for Bradford.
- Christ Church, Church St, Church of England
- Christ Church (The Resurrection 1974), Ashton New Road, Church of England
- Church of the Apostles, Ridgway St, Church of England
- St Aidan, Whyatt Street, Church of England
- St Paul, Stuart Street, Church of England
- St Philip, Ridgway St, Church of England
- Ebenezer Chapel, Mill St, Independent
- Mill St, Independent Methodist
- Bradford Road, Methodist Association
- Bradford Rd, Primitive Methodist
- Cobden Street, Primitive Methodist
- Wellington St, Primitive Methodist
- St Brigid, Mill Street, Roman Catholic
- Mill St, Unitarian
- Albert St, United Methodist
- Mill Street, United Methodist Free Church
- Ashton New Rd (corner Queen St), Wesleyan Methodist
You can also perform a more selective search for
churches in the Bradford area
that are recorded in the GENUKI church database. This will also help
identify churches in nearby townships and/or parishes. You also have the option to see the
location
of the churches marked marked on a map.
If you keep this page loaded for a very long time and the database is updated
since loading it, the church links above may become stale and may display the wrong
church. If this happens, reloading this page will correct them.
The Register Office covering the Bradford area is
Manchester.
Names extracted from the
Manchester & Salford Trades Directory, 1832.
Ask for the gazetteer for a calculation of the distance from Bradford to another place.
In 1835 Bradford was a township in the parish of
Manchester.
A description of
Bradford in the 19th century.
View maps of Bradford and places within its boundaries.
For probate purposes prior to 1858, Bradford was in the Archdeaconry of Chester, in the Diocese of Chester.
The original Lancashire wills for the Archdeaconry of Chester are held at the
Lancashire Record Office.
The
Manchester & Lancashire Family History Society.
Find help, report problems, and contribute information.
[Last updated: Wednesday, 03Sep2008 11:33:46 BST - Phil Stringer]